SomaSimple Discussion Lists  

Go Back   SomaSimple Discussion Lists > Welcome Guest > Welcome, Bienvenue...
Albums Quiz PubMed Gray's Anatomy Tags Online Journals Statistics

Notices

Welcome, Bienvenue... This forum is intended for a brief presentation of our members.

Old 25-03-2011, 10:48 PM   #1
christopher

Default sprint coach

I am a high school sprint coach, speed trainer for a local soccer club, and distributor for the Freelap Timing System. You can probably guess why I'm here. Yes, it is the bane of speed training ... shin splints.

Best,
Christopher

Last edited by Diane; 25-03-2011 at 11:12 PM. Reason: live link removed
christopher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2011, 04:03 PM   #2
Ken Jakalski

Thanked 1,295 Times in 559 Posts

Hi Christopher!

Thanks for coming over from bearpowered!

If anyone can give us a different perspective of post-tib pain, the folks here are the ones whose views I would consider.

I used to believe all the traditional PT foot flexing, rotational, and strengthening stuff. That lasted until 1995 when Bryan Hoddle, World Paralympic Sprint champion Tony Volpentest's coach noted at a clinic here in Lisle, Illinois that Tony also experienced "shin splints" (post tib pain).

How was that at all possible since Tony didn't have feet? It had to involve something other than the way the foot was contacting the ground.
Ken Jakalski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2011, 08:00 PM   #3
Linas
SomaSimpler

Hi Ken,