SomaSimple Discussion Lists  

Go Back   SomaSimple Discussion Lists > Persistent Pain Problems > PPP Management
Albums Quiz PubMed Gray's Anatomy Tags Online Journals Statistics

Notices

PPP Management How to help PPP patients.

Old 02-10-2011, 11:07 AM   #1
antony112

Default Mirror therapy in treating OA?

Hi

I’m a 3rd year physio student from the UK. I have just started my dissertation which is to design a research proposal that will explore the effects of mirror therapy in reducing pain in the wrist and hand in patients who suffer from chronic OA.

Its early days right now and I am reading around previous studies using mirror therapy and some of the concepts surrounding chronic pain states. Previous mirror therapy studies that I have found all focus on the treatment being used in PLP, CRPS and stroke. I understand these conditions have different mechanisms of pain than a mechanical pain such as OA and obviously mirrors will have no effect on the mechanical characteristics of OA

I am basing the research proposal on mirror therapy possibly having a desensitising effect on the affected areas by correcting changes that may have occurred in the somatosensory cortex as a result of long term OA, possibly making the condition more manageable.

I have a basic understanding of the somatosensory cortex at best and just wondered if anybody knew of any good resources that might be helpful in understanding how chronic pain can change the somatosensory cortex, treating and remapping the somatosensory cortex and any good research on mirror therapy (especially if there have been any previous studies on mirror therapy in OA, I can’t find any!)

There seem to be a few people on here that are very knowledgeable in chronic pain conditions and treatments and I would appreciate any input whatsoever especially if you can see any major flaws in what I’m proposing as I am pretty new to this

Thanks

Antony
antony112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 01:59 PM   #2