SomaSimple Discussion Lists  

Go Back   SomaSimple Discussion Lists > Welcome Guest > Welcome, Bienvenue...
Albums Quiz PubMed Gray's Anatomy Tags Online Journals Statistics

Notices

Welcome, Bienvenue... This forum is intended for a brief presentation of our members.

Old 26-01-2012, 05:42 PM   #1
Eilis

Default Newbie!

Hello all... I have been a member here for a few months now... but have been hiding in the background.... One of my clinical educators introduced me to this site, which has been an eye opener... I have recently graduated from my MSc Physiotherapist course, with a great interest in alternative medicine... I would like to find a way to bridge the gap between the two as I feel that each can complement the other... However, while I was a student I found it difficult to express my interest in alternative med. because in many cases it is looked upon as insignificant because of the lack of ‘evidence based practice’.. but when you consider the placebo effect, can what we do not be described as placebo-therapists...and thus can Physio and alternative medicine not be merged under the same umbrella?
My undergraduate degree was in Social Science, where I studied psychology, sociology and philosophy... This has given me a more in depth understanding of people and the society they live in, which I find invaluable when it comes to evaluating patients, their perception of pain, and linking it to psycho-social factors....
I think this site will help me grow as a Physiotherapist..... Thank you all for sharing your knowledge!
Eilis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2012, 05:52 PM   #2
Sheffphysio

Hi Ellis,

Nice to have you here, I hope you find a way that bidges that gap!

Which MSc did you do? Was it in the U.K or Ireland?
Old 26-01-2012, 06:06 PM   #3
zimney3pt
life long learner, clinician, and instructor

Thanked 1,269 Times in 427 Posts

Eilis, welcome to SS.

http://koryzimney.blogspot.com