SomaSimple Discussion Lists  

Go Back   SomaSimple Discussion Lists > Physiotherapy / Physical Therapy / Manual Therapy / Bodywork > General Discussion
Albums Quiz PubMed Gray's Anatomy Tags Online Journals Statistics

Notices

General Discussion this forum is opened to all registered users of somasimple

Old 16-03-2005, 09:49 PM   #1
jhope2

Default Hypnosis as an adjunctive therapy for physiotherapists ??

Hello, I'm a 3rd Year Physio student

I am currently researching this topic for my dissertation, my interest lies in pain management and how different people are in how they experience pain. I have no experience of hypnosis in itself , but have often wondered if this could some how tap into the ability that some individuals have to experience things that should cause immense pain but dont appear to such as mutilation, laying on beds of nails etc.

Physio's come into contact with all sorts of pain and suffering and we have vast numbers of modalities to help relieve pain, including branching out in to psychological aspects such as with CBT, so could hypnosis be one more modality at our disposal? there's certainly a huge amount of research that advocates it as an adjunctive therapy.

If anyone has any opinion, thoughts on this subject matter i would be really grateful... even if its to say that physio is becoming too dilute and we should not be diversifing any further.

many thanks - Jo
jhope2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2005, 11:39 AM   #2
jhope2

thank you for the speedy reply, i neglected to mention i'm in the UK where there is no formal training or standards council for hypnotherapy, i also thought that there'd be reluctance from the hypnosis/psychologist areana , as yet ive only had very positive feedback, which is great cause we're all in this for the one purpose at the end of the day, helping people.