SomaSimple Discussion Lists  

Go Back   SomaSimple Discussion Lists > Welcome Guest > Welcome, Bienvenue...
Albums Quiz PubMed Gray's Anatomy Tags Online Journals Statistics

Notices

Welcome, Bienvenue... This forum is intended for a brief presentation of our members.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 20-07-2010, 08:42 PM   #1
vancouverRMT
wellandabler

Default Intro

Hey everybody!
I am an evidence-based therapist. My main treatment modalities include working with soft tissue mobilization and movement education. I treat most patient populations. I primarily work with facial tissue and the nervous system. My goal is to return the patient to their optimum health as fast as possible while educating them in the process, so that they can keep their new found strength and mobility.

I'm pretty green when it comes to the rehab world. I consider myself a baby when it comes to what I need to know. I have a big thirst to be the best therapist I can and I seem to spend hours on pubmed, in journals, books, blogs, and listening to podcasts.
Any recommendations on what are the essentials?

Mike Reoch, RMT
vancouverRMT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2010, 09:36 PM   #2
Frédéric
Swaying against the breeze

Welcome Mike

Are you familiar with the difference between Evidence based and Science based medecine?

I presume that you treat people in pain so my recommandations on readings would be for you to read this, this and this. If you haven't already read Explain Pain by Butler and Moseley and The Sensitive Nervous System by David Butler, then these are essential books. Most research coming from Bialosky et al is very interesting.

I was wondering what you think you can do to a fascia (and how) in a therapeutic way?
Maybe you could also read this

If you approach this forum with an open mind and are ready to re-appraise many rationnals held in the manual therapy world, you will truly like this forum.

Enjoy!